->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:03 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

Post subject: Light tackle targets
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:20 pm 
Fishaholic

Bobby has me thinking again as a result of his mention of Ladyfish in MM's thread.
I see ladyfish and wolf herrings in the markets all the time as well as things like small barracouda, various small trevelly and lucjanid species, bream (Palu), garfish and tarpon.
I know that there's always a risk of being smashed up by a big barra or MJ but I was wondering whether anyone targets these smaller species for sport and if so, what tackle and tactics you tend to employ.

Note to self: If this looks promising, you're going to have to get a mule to carry the tackle needed for the next Indian foray....

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:23 pm 
Fishaholic

hi ken
im not an expert here but last 2years of bait fishing im targeting breams and garfish and what i have seen is mentioned below.
breams go for cut pieces of Squid/Cuttlefish but i had great success catching them using Snail (each snail got me a fish and i had only 3 of them at that time)
and it is really good to use a Flurocarbon leader(what i have seen is breams usually dont touch baits with mono)
for garfish i have always used live bait

if your post is for spinners then my reply is not going to help in anyway

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:06 pm 
Fishaholic

HI Ken,

when I go out fishing from the breakwaters, I am usually armed with a 15 - 25lb rod, 30lb braid (set up used for live baiting) & a 4 - 8lb rod with 10lb braid for spinning / casting lures. I always start by casting lures a number times, before I settle down to catch some ballyhoo for livebaiting.