->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:03 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:01 pm 

Hi everyone,
I am new to fishing. I have little experience in fishing (I have totally caught some 40 fishes in a pond near my home). This saturday, I tried my luck with shore fishing. I have no experience in sea fishing. I went to a place called Rameshwaram (in Tamil Nadu). There is a beach called Ariyaman Beach. I waded to waist deep water and I cast my line there with prawn as bait. But to my bad luck, I was not able to catch a single fish. I tried for almost 4 hours but returned empty handed. I could see fishes jumping out of the water but none took my bait except for one time when the prawn I cast was taken before I could realise.
Can you help me with my fishing as I am deeply interested in it.
Regards
Vivek

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:28 pm 
Fishaholic

Hi Vvek,

I have fished Rameshwaram. You need to hire a traditional boat from the north of the temple beach and go out abt 1 km. There is good fish there. If you are based in Rameshwaram , you can try Tondi whch is 100 km north of Rameswaram . This is a great destination for barramundi between october to january.

Jeen

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:43 pm 
Fishaholic

Wow! I always wanted to fish in Rameshwaram.

Vivek Peter, Can you tell what time you were fishing?

Maruthu

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:18 pm 
Fishaholic

Also what kind of rig you were using would help in terms of figuring out what is the reason also is the beach flat or it has gradation in terms of depth?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:23 pm 

lure_fisherman wrote:
Wow! I always wanted to fish in Rameshwaram.

Vivek Peter, Can you tell what time you were fishing?

Maruthu