->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:25 am

All times are UTC+05:30

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:21 pm 
Fishaholic

Hi guys!

My name's Aznir, from Malaysia. I'm a freshwater angler, with particular penchant for river sportfishes: mahseer, Hampala Barb, snakeheads etc.
I'm also a fishing writer for Malaysian mags.

I'm an active member of another forum, the Malaysia Fishing Net, a 'huge' place with 4.2 million hits last month :o
But I have been lured to this forum...

For the past few years, I have been making annual pilgrimage to Cauvery River for the mighty mahseer. To me it's the greatest river sportfish in India, if not the world! :shock:

so far, I have only been fishing the humpbacked mahseer of Cauvery. I'm hoping to find out more about the mahseers, notably the greyhound/golden mahseer of the north.

My handle? Well, I 'stole' it from John Gierach (Trout Bum). I'm a jungle river addict!

Congrats Bopanna, for starting this forum. Looking forward to 'meet' you guys!!

><<:>

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:36 pm 
Fishaholic

Hi Junglebum,

I am chuffed to have a Malayasian aboard as I have a very vested interest - could you please give me links to online tackle shops in Malaysia?

Also, would it be possible to get a Shimano Beastmaster or Nexave uptide rod in Malaysia?

Thanks.

Rustam

Post subject: Fishing in Malaysia
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:32 am 
Fishaholic

Hi Junglebum,
I'm hoping to come out to Malaysia in a couple of winters time. Where abouts are you based, and where is the best place for fishing?
I assumed I would visit the peninsula, but perhaps I need to go to Borneo?
Let us know when you are coming to India and I'm sure Bops and myself (if I'm there at the time) will help you to get amonst the mahseer.
regards,
Steve

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 7:28 am 
Fishaholic

Hey Rustam/Steve;