->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:48 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

Post subject: murrel on popper !
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:09 pm 
Fishaholic

buoyed by my recent success i decided to try my lures for murrel again.
the lake was the same as in my preceding post. the crux is that the area is full of weeds and i was out of frogs (both live and otherwise).
i could see some fish jump at the smaller fish in the shallows but did not know what it was. i casted at the place i could see the strikes but did not have any success. i am a newbie and not great at casting with accuracy anyway and the wind was also blowing leading my plugs away. i cast a storm thunderstick , a spoon , an artificial beetle and a popper. the beetle. popper and the spoon were by Sv Tec (a chinese concern which had me concerned).
after around 50 or more casts and dredging up all kinds of weeds i took a break and moved away. as i did ,i saw a strike by the fish on the fingerlings. i ran back and lobbed the popper. the casts i had made earlier had made my aim better and the wind had also died down. as the lure landed i twitched the rod tip and took up the slack. i saw a larger than usual wake behind my lure and wham the game was on ! man seeing a murrel take a top water lure and being on the opposite end of the rod is a rush. after a short power tussle the murrel gave up and my gillie said that the fish is gone. i kept reeling in to see that the 2 lbs murrel was still secured by the treble hooks. it had taken the lure cleanly from behind and then had wrapped the other set of trebles around its gills.
murrel photographed and released.

http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt42 ... l002-1.jpg

http://i596.photobucket.com/albums/tt42 ... rel001.jpg :D :D :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:55 am 
Fishaholic