->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:38 am

All times are UTC+05:30

Post subject: Telescopic or Take apart
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:03 pm 
Fishaholic

I know this is repeat of the "travel rod" subject on which dibu has been most helpful, but i need some definite advice on one specific point:

If one has to choose between a telescopic travel rod comprising of 10 sections and a take apart travel rod comprising of 6 sections, which should one opt for? Both are of carbon composite material, identical in length (8 feet) and both have a casting weight of 10-30 gms.

Could the experienced help the novice here ?

hawkeye

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:55 pm 
Fishaholic

Hi Hawkeye,

There are a couple of things to consider here:

1) A 10 section will fold smaller and so perhaps it will give you more packing options.

2) A 6 section rod will be larger (longer) when folded, but it will be stronger given there are fewer joints.

If it were between these two, I would go with the 6 section rod. Perhaps another thing would be the number of guides, do you want more or less?

However, I reiterate, I would go with the 6 section rod.

Regards,

Bobby

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:47 pm 
Fishaholic

I dont know ! How is that important ? The 6 section take apart has 6 guides, while the 10 section telescopic has 8. There is another 6 section take apart available with 8 guides.
Is it better to have more or less guides ?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:38 pm 
Fishaholic

Put very simply, if you are spinning with an fixed spool reel, lesser guides. A fixed spool reel is what I would expect you to use with a telescopic. More guides would hinder casting (distance) with a fixed spool reel. A rod with fewer sections and lesser guides would make a better all-purpose rod.