->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:11 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:35 pm 

Hello all!
I am new to the mumbai fishing scene and was seeking help. I have concluded that mahseer and sea shore fishing are the angling types that will fit my needs, but my tackle just does not seem up to par :( so, I need you guys, the ones with the know how, to help. My tackle consists of...
1. A two peace shimano spinning rod, 6 foot 6 inches, and medium fast action. It is also rated for 6-14 pound test line
2. plugs, one rapala 7cm floating minnow, silver and black. a deep diving rapala, also silver and black. One diawa gold and brown minnow. These are the ones i think will be good but thats for you guys to decide. (ps I have more)
3. top-waters (i don't have many :cry:) one yiru-zori (no clue how to spell that) bass pattern, its like about 4 inchs.
4. plastics too many to list :D
5. two spinner baits, double willow blades. about 5 Mepps spinners and other brand spinners too. (panther martin, ect)
So what should i keep using and what to store away?
Also where to by tackle in mumbia (i live in powai if that helps)
One more, who lives in mumbai? and can they tell me where too fish or hook up with me (get it, "hook" [smilie=yum.gif]) to catch some fish!.

tight lines,
A.R.M.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:17 pm 
Fishaholic

Line ratings for rods are absolutely useless as an indicator of how strong a rod is - I once had a proper ultralight spinning rod that said that it was suitable for lines upto 20lb !
Power ratings (L, M, MH etc) are just about as pointless.
"Medium fast action" relates to the recovery speed of the blank so that dosen't tell you anything about it's power.
What sort of weight is the rod designed to cast ?