->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:27 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:15 am 

I know that this has been discussed over other forums time and again and I still am confused.

Well here is the story, I have a Abu Ambassaduer 9000i and an Abu 6500 C4. I use these on Galibore. I agree 9000i is an overkill, but it goes well with the Big water casting rod 2 pc 10 ft from Shakespeare, the reel is spooled with 40lb mono.

And I use the c4 with a 8 ft rod and have a 20lb line on it. And I have another cabela prodigy on a fish eagle (7ft, 2pc) for Murral, that is spooled with 15 lb mono.

I am looking at starting shore fishing (intention is to go to Managlore / Chennai and try that).

I am looking at buying another reel and this time I was thinking of buying a non-level wind. I have the Shimano Torium size 16 or 20 in mind or the Ambassadeur 6500 Mag Elite or the Ambassadeur 7000iC3.

I am not keen on the 7000iC3 as I am not very comfortable with the chinese stuff. The 9000i's clicker has given me enough problems that I need to fix it on every trip.

Either I go with the torium or 6500 mag or I am also inclined to just stick to the classic C3 6500 still made in sweden.

The Question of course is how easy or difficult it is to use the non-level wind reel. Is it something that can be learnt like using the thumb on baitcasting to avoid backlash. Any opinion from folks who have non-level wind will be great.

Apologies for the longish post.

Thank you
Ranjeet singh

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:10 pm 

I've used 7000ic3's on the cauvery for a few years and they perform well but I have found one fault that means I am looking for the older 7000 or 9000s.