->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:57 pm

All times are UTC+05:30

Post subject: Identify this Mahseer,
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:06 pm 
Site Admin

Hi folks

Could somebody ID these fish for me. Couldn't get a better pic than this,

Cheers
Bops

Post subject: Identify this mahseer?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:40 pm 
Enlightened

I give up Bops. Give me the location - may help.

Don

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:19 pm 
Site Admin

Don, I took this picture a couple of weeks ago on an exploratory trip I made into the hills in search of wild mahseer. The location would be on the way to Mangalore from malvalli. About 40K out of Mercara.

Bops

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:13 am 
Fishaholic

Congrats bops, great stuff! These look very much like pictures I have seen of baby nothern Mahseer. Hey I am no expert on Mahseer but just my two cents.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:31 am 
Fishaholic

Mate, if you hadn't mentioned South and Mercara, I'd have said they look exactly like our Northerns- long, lean, dark lateral stripe and those red tinted caudals. You sure it's not from our hills up here?

Can't be wild fish if they're bunched up in clear water. Not a sanctuary (temple/etc) is it?

Cheers

Vedan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:36 am 
Site Admin

They seem to be protected at least in some places though I've been told that fish much bigger than these have been caught downstream from where these pictures were taken.

They look a lot like the northerns and are known as "Bommeenu" amongst the locals.

Bops

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:18 pm 
Fishaholic

Bops,

Include me in any of your conservation and research oriented field trips. I have the time to devote to such activities and would love to learn more.